Richland County Mutual Insurance Company

Richland County Mutual Insurance Company. This company was organized in 1850, being one of the pioneer fire insurance companies of Ohio. It was created not for the purpose of accumulating profits for itself, but for the sole purpose of serving its patrons with sound fire insurance protection at the least cost for such service. Like the child born in extreme weakness, with little to build on save good environment and good parental care, but which develops into strong manhood and develops wisdom and material wealth, Richland Mutual Insurance Company was born in extreme weakness from a material standpoint, with nothing to commend it save the integrity, good faith, and high purpose of its sponsors, men who were a force in their community and who attained outstanding success in their personal endeavors. They were men whose activities were not only written into the history of Mansfield but whose influence was vital in the affairs of Ohio as well.

The organizers of the company were: Eben P. Sturges, Jacob Parker, Thomas W. Bartley, Robert Bentley, Charles T. Sherman, James Weldon, Andrew Conn, George W. Waring, and James Harvey Cook.

The company has developed in a natural way, through conflagrations and years of business depression and panic until it has become a strong, sturdy institution with thousands of policy holders, a half million dollars of quick assets, and over two million dollars contingent assets, although its activities are confined to the State of Ohio alone. Its management has always been conservative and good underwriting practices have been observed, which accounts for its strong position in the business. In 80 years the company has had very few changes in officers and in that time has had but six presidents. The first president was Andrew Conn, one of the organizers of the company, who was succeeded in turn by Edward Sturges, James Harvey Cook, Hiram R. Smith, Abraham C. Cummins, and the present incumbent, J. Arthur Rigby.

For more than one-half of the 80 years of its existence Mr. Richmond Smith presided over the immediate conduct of the business as its secretary, and he is well known throughout the state as a leading authority on insurance. He is now chairman of the board of directors, having been connected with the company for 56 years.

The present officers are: J. Arthur Rigby, president; S. A. Jennings, treasurer; E. W. Dann, secretary; and J. G. Wallace, assistant secretary.

History of North Central Ohio
Embracing Richland, Ashland, Wayne,
Medina, Lorin, Huron and Knox Counties
BY: William A. Duff
Historical Publishing Company
Topeka-Indianapolis 1931

Privacy Policy for OnlineBiographies

North Central Ohio Biographies

Names A to C
Names D to G
Names H to K
Names L to P
Names Q to S
Names T to Z




New York

For all your genealogy needs visit Linkpendium

Family Tree Maker 2012